Sins & Authors – Interview with R.L. Griffin

Sins & AuthorsOh noes! We are winding down here in our Sins & Authors feature. I’ll be sad not to grill my favorite authors anymore about Camden’s tats or Javier’s…soullessness. But I gotta say, blogging every single day is exhausting (especially when you’re trying to write books and promote books and move a whole damn house!) so kudos to you book bloggers! I could never do what you do and you have my mad respect. You know who else has my mad respect? R.L. Griffin. Totally. Today I interviewed her about….stuff. Like…would she choose a tattoo gun or a non-dairy creamer fireball as her weapon of choice. She also has a few choice words to say about a certain character!

KH: Welcome. To get the ball rolling, what enticed you to pick up Sins & Needles?

RG: I love different, gritty stories that aren’t typical. The premise was so interesting to me so I took a chance on it and it was fantastic. I’m hooked.

KH: Who is your favorite character out of our con artist Ellie Watt, our tattoo artist Camden McQueen and our resident psychopath drug lord Javier Bernal?

RG: Ellie. I love her and I hate her. I feel bad for her and I want to slap her.

KH: TEAM ELLIE! *high fives* If you had to have any of their occupations, what would you choose and why?

RG: Tattoo artist. I love tattoos, I wish I was artist in that way and hearing stories of why someone wants to get something permanently in their body would be pretty cool.

KH: Summarize each character in one sentence.

RG: Ellie is perfectly broken, a mix of contradictory emotions and actions.
Camden is darkness standing in light and fighting for love.
Javier is deranged and power hungry and knows that he exactly what Ellie needs and wants.

KH: You’ve read Shooting Scars. How was that?

RG: Fucking awesome.

KH: Hahahah. Right on! Now, let’s get devious. If you had to torture someone for information, would you use a tattoo gun to the eyeball or a coffee mate fireball to the face?

RG: Tattoo gun. I’m hardcore like that.

KH: Yes you are! How does the setting play an important role in the books?

RG: Setting is important for me because I want to see the entire picture, have I been there before or does the author just create the environment so I can picture it.

KH: If you were to be arrested, what would it be for? Would you be smiling in your mug shot photo?

RG: Stabbing someone in the eye. I’m always threatening this and yes, I’d probably be smiling.

KH: Remind me to never piss you off…or give you a tattoo gun. How did you make the switch from lawyer to author?

RG: I switch daily. I’m still a lawyer and I write at night and weekends. Yep, really fucking crazy.

KH: Yeah, that is a bit crazy. Combine that with the stabbing people in the eye thing and…well, at least you can plead insanity and then argue your own case.Describe your series By a Thread (which I have and am so excited to read…you know I love contemp suspense)

RG: My series is about Stella Murphy and her friends in DC. Her life is turned upside down in the first three pages of By A Thread and the rest of the story is her response to that and then the coming blows. There is a little bit of everything deceit, sex, drinking and one-liners.

KH: Oooh, hook them in from the start! Wine or Beer?

RG: Both. Every day.

KH: Can we be friends? *hides stabby objects* Oh that’s right, you had one more thing to say…

RG: I’m team Camden. I love him and my heart cracked for him during the balcony scene. Even after that in the hotel room he fell so that Ellie would fall on him I just thought that was so heartbreaking. His entire world shifting when he saw that scene and then he still cared for her so much. Ugh. I can’t wait to read the next book.

RL Griffin

Bio:  I live in the Atlanta area and I’m surrounded by awesome dudes: my husband, son and two dogs. I went to law school at American University, Washington College of Law, but only after I fell in love with D.C. I worked in the Senate during the impeachment trial and wanted to stay. After law school I worked for a bit in the area, then moved to Atlanta.

If you ask anyone who knows me they know I love reading and read all sorts of books. Any free time I have I’m either reading, writing or drinking with friends.

She is the author of the contemporary suspense series, By A Thread.

Website:  http://www.rlgriffinauthor.com/

Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/R.L.GriffinByAThread

Twitter:  http://www.twitter.com/rlgriffinauthor

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/1254833.R_L_Griffin

Here’s her teaser for today…it’s Shooting Scars too!

RG teaser

Don’t forget to enter this giveaway to win a set of signed Sins & Needles and On Every Street paperbacks PLUS 30 different ebooks! ————–>click here

Leave a comment