Sins & Authors – Interview with K.A. Tucker and Karina Halle (aka Crazy Canucks)

Sins & AuthorsAnd here we have it folks. The last Sins & Authors interview and this time I get interviewed as well! I can’t believe all the wonderful authors who agreed to take time out of their busy schedules (believe me…authors are BUSY people…we barely have time to bathe ourselves) to come and talk to me about The Artists Trilogy. I’ve had so much fun and discovered so many fun and talented authors and their books in the process. Win win all around! For our final interview we have none other than K.A. Tucker whose book Ten Tiny Breaths dominated Amazon’s Top 100 for weeks and weeks, garnering the attention of Atria, where she’s now signed. She’s since come out with One Tiny Lie and the soon-to-be released Four Seconds to Lose. Also, you may not know this, but like me, Tucker is a Canadian. And as such, a really cool person to close down a bar with. Also…I may start slipping into “eh” a lot. You’ve been warned (you also get your Bold Tricks teaser below!)

KH:  You’ve read the whole Artists Trilogy – give the peeps out there who haven’t read it a good reason to pick up Sins & Needles

KT: I have read the entire series *smiles wickedly* This has become one of my favorite series. Though it’s not categorized as a New Adult read, it could be. The characters are young and f*d up. The tone of this series is dark, dark, dark. The writing is phenomenal (Karina, your voice is unique and captivating). And the plot? Hot, and action-packed. Never a dull moment.

KH: If this were a movie – who would you cast?

KT: I am the worst at movie casting but I’ll take a shot. Rachel McAdams for Ellie (because McAdams has that look about her- the pretty girl hiding the devil inside), Ryan Gosling because I think he can pull off a nerd-gone-bad ass look (and, oh! Ryan and Rachel together again! Sigh… And, Oh! They’re both Canadian! And WE are both Canadian! I digress). For Javier, I keep going back to Diego Gonzalez. Not for his acting ability, but I think he could both charm and creep me out (as Javier does).

KH: OMG. You’re right!! Team Canada! Ryan and Rachel would be perfect again. That is GENIUS!! Out of Ellie, Javier and Camden, who is the most justified in their actions, the way they lived their life?
KT: At first I was going to say Javier, because this is the only life he knows, in a ‘kill or be killed’ world. But… no. He’s driven by power and greed, not survival. So I pick Ellie. She was abandoned by parents who taught her nothing but to lie, steal, and run.
KH: If you could get Camden to tattoo you anywhere and anything, what would you get?
KT: An ankle bracelet. It would have to be something really delicate and pretty, like a vine with tiny flowers.
KH: Mini golf with Camden, playing pool with Ellie or sailing with Javier?
KT: I can’t believe I’m saying this but… sailing with Javier.
KH: Sucker for a sailboat, eh? Assign a drink for each character. 

KT: Ellie= Dirty Martini,  Camden=Jack & Coke Javier=Scotch neat

KH: I’ll drink to that. Give me a word to describe Bold Tricks
KT: Bittersweet (and I can’t explain why without revealing the end but that’s what I was feeling the entire way through this book. Fantastic story, ends perfectly, but there’s an undertone there, a “what if”, a “why!” that pulled at my heartstrings.
KH: Your character Trent from Ten Tiny Breaths goes on a date with Ellie – what happens? (say this is pre-TTB)  
KT: I think she’d be drawn to him with his pretty boy looks and his hard body. They’d do dinner and he’d charm her. Maybe they’d go for a ride on his bike. Then he’d take her back to his place, she’d think he’s just an average guy who works out of his condo, doing graphic design and she’d ditch him because there’s not much to steal from him. Or… he’d take his shirt off, she’d see the giant “Forgiveness” tat on his back and completely swoon.

KH: She does like them tats. Let’s talk about the book I’m having the pleasure of reading – Four Seconds to Lose!!! Go!  Yes! Four Seconds To Lose is based on Cain, the owner of Penny’s Palace (strip club) from Ten Tiny Breaths. Remember? The really hot but really strange guy who goes out of his way to help Storm and Kacey, who tells Kacey that she needs to quit the bar because she’s too good for it? The one who might have some skeletons in his closet? 

And, boy, does he ever…

FSTL is told from two POVs: Cain’s and Charlie Rourke (new character).  She’s a twenty-two-year old pole-dancing diva who wants a job in his club. And who he can’t stop thinking about. Cain is a very controlled, principled man (I know, sounds contradictory, given his profession) who doesn’t sleep with the dancers. And Charlie, well… she’s just there to make a ton of money and fast because she’s in her own personal mess. Her name isn’t even really Charlie.

There’s not much more I can tell you without giving away parts of the plot. I will say that, as different as ONE TINY LIE is from TEN TINY BREATHS, FOUR SECONDS TO LOSE is VERY different. Both characters are dark and complex, as are their situations. Cain was difficult to write because he’s so intense. The drama is dialed up in this story but there are also many moments of humor to lighten things up. Readers will get a lot of the TTB supporting cast in this book. Specifically Nate, Ben, and Storm, though Kacey, Trent, and even Tanner make more than one appearance.

KH: I love Charlie, loved Cain…really loved this book. Seriously. I’m so excited for everyone to read it, it’s deliciously dark and very hard to put down (I read it while moving, how about that, eh?)

AND NOW THE INTERVIEW SWITCHES OVER….KA is in the driver’s seat

KT: The progression (or shall I say demise) of Javier’s character from On Every Street through to Shooting Scars (and beyond… *smug smile*) is sad to witness but necessary. Did you begin this series knowing how far he would fall? How much of his soul he would lose?

KH: Of course I knew! I’m a plotter and I really get to know my characters inside and out before I write them…of course, they evolve too and surprise me as they go. Nothing Javier did ever surprised me…it’s just who he is. I do believe he has a soul but no more or less than he did after the events in On Every Street. He’s not an evil man, but he is a businessman at heart and his first love is power. Power – or the quest for power- has ruined many people. 

KT: There are distinct reader camps here: Team Javier and Team Camden. Was there ever a point where you couldn’t decide who Ellie should end up with? Was it ever a hard decision for you?
KH: I had always planned who she was going to end up with…I planned out the epilogue in Bold Tricks while I wrote Sins & Needles, actually. The whole Team This vs Team That was a bit of a shock to be honest. This was never meant to be a love triangle – and I stand by that though it is a triangle, not all parties “love”. I had no idea people would actually consider Javier to be a valid love interest. That said, there were some moments where I could see the relationship going either way but I stuck to my guns and I couldn’t be happier with the outcome. I’m sure some people will be pissed off but *shrugs* it’s my book and it went the way I wanted it to. IDGAF lol. 
KT:  I can tell that you enjoy delving into this dark world of cartels.  As a reader, do you find yourself pulled toward writers with a similar dark edge to their writing? I have a hard time picturing you reading fluffy romances.
KH: I do read a lot of edgier stuff. A lot of paranormal/horror in YA or adult. Romantic suspense (though it’s hard to find, IMO) I love. Or just suspense in general. Most of my favorite writers are men. But I do read fluffy stuff too when I need a break…I have nothing against happy endings or romantic cheese and fluff, my only problem with those books is that the plot is usually too boring to keep me interested. But take Helen Fielding or Sophie Kinsella and their chick lit…loved their books!
KT: I love it when I hear an author’s voice come through in their writing. I had a opportunity to talk to you in person (aka close down the Book Bash hotel bar). Now that I’ve read this series, I feel like I’ve gotten to know you as a person and that’s pretty cool.  Do you find that your words flow freely as a natural extension of your thoughts? Or do you still toil over every sentence (as I do).
KH: I honestly just write and put it all out there. When I do my re-read, that’s when I started to toil and perfect as much as I can😀
THANK YOU FOR INTERVIEWING ME KA TUCKER!!
me and KA

KA Tucker

Born in small-town Ontario, Kathleen published her first book at the age of six with the help of her elementary school librarian and a box of crayons.

She is a voracious reader and the farthest thing from a genre-snob, loving everything from High Fantasy to Chick Lit.

Kathleen currently resides in a quaint small town outside of Toronto with her husband, two beautiful girls, and an exhausting brood of four-legged creatures.

Author of the Casual Enchantment series and the Ten Tiny Breaths series.

Website:  www.katuckerbooks.com/‎

Facebook:  http://www.facebook.com/K.A.Tucker.Author?sk=app_106171216118819

Twitter:  https://twitter.com/#!/kathleenatucker

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4866520.K_A_Tucker

BTteaser

Leave a Reply

