Sins & Authors – Interview with Rachael Wade (+ Bold Tricks teaser)

Sins & Authors Welcome to another addition of Sins & Authors! Today on the show…did I say show? I meant blog *silly* Today on the blog, we have a very special guest – author Rachael Wade, who is just all sorts of awesome. Rachael is the author of Preservation (who doesn’t love a great teacher student romance with sass?) as well as Love & Relativity and the Resistance Trilogy. Today we talk about how to build a great book boyfriend, and then some…(PS check out an early teaser for Bold Tricks on the bottom)

KH: Okay, you recently spoke on a panel at an author signing and mentioned Camden McQueen as a great book boyfriend. Tell us what you said about my tattooed man

RW: Ah, yes. At Indie Bookfest, a question was asked about BBFs that are not perfect. Interestingly enough, a guy raised his hand and asked have we read (or written) about a male lead that isn’t all perfect abs and killer smiles. Even though Camden obviously has the hot bod and all that, I talked about how he was my favorite out of all the male leads I’ve read recently because his pretty isn’t conventional. And in a sea of hot, perfect, fitness model millionaires dominating NA and Adult Contemporary right now, it was beyond refreshing to have this guy who was not only edgy physically, but also very, very flawed and scarred emotionally. I loved that he was so real, and I talked about all that and how I think we need more of those leads and that there is a place for them in the romance genres.

KH: I agree. Camden is quite the unconventional hero. Your initial reactions to reading the prequel On Every Street – don’t hold back!

RW: I was sucked in from page one. The writing is visceral and compelling. But most of all, what really hooked me was the characters. I am so tired of flat, boring characters. Many of the leads I’ve come across lately all seem to blur together. Reading Ellie and Javier was like having all the windows opened.

KH: Explain Javier’s appeal…

RW: Smooth, animalistic seduction. Mystery. His passion is scary one minute and sexy the next. You never know when he’s going to cross the line. He’s just wild.

KH: Do you think he really loved Ellie in OES or was he, as Gus pointed out, mistaking obsession for love?

RW: Oh, isn’t that the question of the hour. I swear, I literally just had this conversation with some of my friends about this, like…yesterday. What drives me really batshit crazy is that I truly don’t know. I think it’s a bit of both. I think he’s so damaged that like Gus points out, he doesn’t really know what love is, in its true form, anyway. But I also really got the impression in OES that at one point, in some weird, twisted way that he really did fall for her. But that could have just been me wanting him to fall for her, wanting it to be real. It was one huge mindfuck for me.

KH: If you could go on a date with Camden where would you go, what would you do?

RW: God, I don’t now. That’s tough. I think I’d want to put him to work. I’d have him tattoo me.

KH: If you were on the run from the law, what would it be for. What would your new alias be? What is your getaway car? And where is your hide-out?

RW: Ha! No idea what I’d be on the run for, but I’d want Jose as a getaway car, a cottage near the water for a hideaway, and Lydia Deets as an alias.

KH: If this were a movie, what would your casting choices be for the three leads?

RW: The first person that popped in my head for Ellie was Kristen Stewart. I’m not talking Twilight Kristen. I’m talking Indie Queen Kristen. Specifically Welcome to the Rileys, this scene: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WdOynfyOsZs . I don’t know what it was, but images of her character from that scene immediately came to mind when I read Ellie. Raw, bold, intense, vulnerable. For Camden, no clue. I can see him so clearly in my head but can’t think of an actor to cast. For Javier, definitely a younger version of Javier Bardem or Jordi Mollà.

KH: If you could meet Camden in high school, what would be the one thing you would tell him?

RW: Don’t listen to a thing your father tells you. You’re rare. You’re brilliant.

KH: Let’s discuss Preservation. I was sucked in by the book’s description close to after you released it – in fact, in some ways I consider Preservation to be one of the first NA/college-aged books to appear on the indie platform. Do you agree?

RW: Wow. Thanks. To be honest, at the time I sat down tot write it, up until I released it, I was completely oblivious the world of NA. In fact, I didn’t even know it existed, which made marketing tricky at first. I just called it contemporary romance and let readers define it. I just wrote what I wanted to read at the time, and I was having zero luck finding stories about 20 somethings. And then the NA explosion happened and all of a sudden I’ve been informed that’s what I write lol.

KH: Tell me about your upcoming book, Declaration, as well as your latest release, Repossession.

RW: Declaration is the 3rd and final book in the Preservation Series. It’s from Carter’s POV, one of the supporting male leads in Preservation. It comes out on October 15th. Repossession is my latest NA Sci-Fi release. It’s the 1st book in an apocalyptic romance series with an alien invasion theme.

KH: I love aliens! Actually no, they scare the shit out of me, no lie! Thank you so much Rachael

Rachael Wade

Rachael Wade is the Amazon bestselling author of The Preservation Series, The Resistance Trilogy, and the upcoming sci-fi series, The Keepers Trilogy. When she’s not writing, she’s busy learning French, watching too many movies, and learning how to protect animals and the environment.

Website:  http://www.rachaelwade.com/

Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/AuthorRachaelWade

Twitter:  https://twitter.com/rachaelwade

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4831558.Rachael_Wade

1 bold tricks

Don’t forget to enter this giveaway to win a set of signed Sins & Needles and On Every Street paperbacks PLUS 30 different ebooks! ————–> click here

One response to “Sins & Authors – Interview with Rachael Wade (+ Bold Tricks teaser)

Leave a Reply

