Sins & Authors – Interview with Rebecca Espinoza

Sins & Authors Two more days till Shooting Scars! I’m quite le excited! To celebrate and to cap off your weekend, we’ve got the fabulous Rebecca Espinoza here, author of Binds (I have my own personalized copy, so happy!). Rebecca and I have a serious heart to heart about whether Javier truly loves Ellie or not, and if Uncle Jim had it coming. Also, lots of Camden love up in here❤ OH and I gave her an exclusive Shooting Scars teaser (see bottom of post)

KH: What strikes you as the most interesting aspect of The Artists Trilogy – what do you think about a lot having read Sins & Needles? What gripped you?

RE: The most interesting aspect is how cinematic it feels. I was lucky enough to beta read Sins and Needles and I remember just feeling this thrill of excitement about it. I could imagine everything as if I was watching a movie, it just felt so real. The characters are fleshed out and impressively flawed and there is never a lull. It’s a perfect mix of action, romance, and adventure and I’ve never read anything like it.

KH: Can you relate to our immoral heroine Ellie Watt, why or why not?

RE: The immorality, not really. I’m the kind of person who gets shaky if a cop is just driving behind me. I was arrested in high school once for ditching and I almost pissed myself. No kidding. Since then, cops make me nervous so I tend to stay on the straight and narrow. I do relate to her body confidence issues with her scars and think that she’s not a bad person. She’s just someone who has been dealt a shitty hand by a crooked dealer. I don’t blame her for hiding aces in her sleeve. Under the circumstances, maybe I’d have done the same.

KH: I agree. Without spoiling too much – did Uncle Jim have it coming?

RE: Yes. It sounds terrible, but I just have no sympathy for him. You make a deal with the Devil…what do you expect?

KH: Good point! Do you think Javier, our obsessive drug lord, really loves Ellie or not? Give reasons to support this (LOL this sounds like a high school examine!)

RE: I don’t think Javier really knows what love is. I think he believes he loves her, but after some of the incidences in Shooting Scars, I think ultimately, Javier doesn’t love anyone more than his own self and his own revenge. That’s where Ellie and Camden differ. All of these characters have a chip on their shoulders, but I think that Ellie and Camden are able to find the strength to put love of another person above their love of revenge. Javier, not so much.

KH: Very wise thoughts there, Rebecca. If Camden could give you a tattoo, what would it be?

RE: I’m a collector of tattoos. Love them, but I’m really picky about who I let tattoo me. I think Camden could make the cut, though. I’d probably want him to finish up my sleeve. I have this beautiful picture of a woman caught in the rain that I want, so I’d definitely trust him to do it.

KH: Quick. You’ve done something bad and the police are coming. You have to flee. You’ve got Camden at one end of the house, Javier at the other and Ellie in the middle. Who do you run off with?

RE: Camden, without a doubt. I connect so much with his character because if someone is one of my people, I’ll defend them and do anything I can to help them, even if I don’t agree with everything they do. He’s proved that he’s the same way, more than once, so he’d be my choice. I wouldn’t even give it a second thought.

KH: A walk on the beach with Javier or mini golf and backyard BBQ with Camden?

RE: I’m a happily married woman. That being said, burnt steaks for the win.

KH: You’ve read Shooting Scars – give us a sentence on Gus

RE: Gus is an enigma. (I think I have him figured out, though.)

KH: You live in Hawaii…tell us the latest scandalous tale from the islands

RE: I’m a Haole (a white person) so I’m not really up on the latest island gossip. However, it’s funny that you ask this, I’m working on writing a book (in between the Binds series) that will feature a lot of insider info on Hawaii that most mainland Haoles aren’t privy to. The Hawaii Sovereignty Movement, which is a group that want Hawaii back from the United States will play a prominent role. Hawaii’s history is really fascinating, so I hope people will be interested in reading it.

bindsKH: I would loooove to read it. Your book Binds is urban fantasy and has gotten fabulous reviews – tell us a bit about it and what you have planned next

RE: Yeah, the good reviews have surprised the crap out of me. It’s been a trip. I’d describe Binds as dystopian light fantasy with magic, good vs. evil and a nice slow-burn romance. It’s basically about a woman who is more than she seems or has been made to believe her whole life. It’s also about her finding her own strength. She’s not as strong of a character as Ellie, to begin with, but she’s getting there. Next up I have a novella coming out from the Binds universe that is told from the POV of Jinx, the Mage’s resident techie. It’s called Jinxed and should be out really soon.

Rebecca Espinoza

Rebecca Espinoza, an Army wife, has lived in 8 different houses and 5 different states in the past 10 years and she can’t wait for the next move. She is skilled in the arts of basket weaving, origami, and bullshitting. She is a book thief and likely to pilfer any she sees lying around in friends’ houses, so keep an eye out if you invite her in. She currently resides in beautiful Wahiawa, Hawaii (Army wives will get this joke) with her two sons and dog, Tosh.0 (her most favorite person in the world…the dog, not the comedian), and her husband pops in from the field, missions, or deployment every now and then to say hello. She tends towards the sarcastic when referring to herself in third person. Rebecca is a Turtle, are you?

Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/rebeccanespinoza

Twitter:  http://www.twitter.com/RNEspinoza

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6912153.Rebecca_Espinoza

SSLO

Giveaway! CLICK HERE TO ENTER – YOU CAN WIN 30-BOOKS AND EXCLUSIVE SHIT —->>>>> RAFFLECOPTER GIVEAWAY

One response to “Sins & Authors – Interview with Rebecca Espinoza

Leave a Reply

