Javier and Ellie’s songs

While I’m finishing up Shooting Scars, more music comes prominent in the tragic circumstances of Ellie and Javier’s relationship. Shooting Scars features the Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds album Let Love In. In particular, I find the songs “Do You Love Me?”, “Loverman” and “I Let Love In” to be especially poignant. Just take a look at the lyrics:

Do You Love Me?

I found her on a night of fire and noise
Wild bells rang in a wild sky
I knew from that moment on
I’ll love her till the day that I died
And I kissed away a thousand tears
My lady of the Various Sorrows
Some begged, some borowed, some stolen
Some kept safe for tomorrow
On and endless night, silver star spangled
The bells from the chapel went jingle-jangle

Do you love me? Do you love me?
Do you love me? Do you love me?
Do you love me? Do you love me?
Do you love me? Like I love you?

She was given to me to put things right
And I stacked all my accomplishments beside her
Still I seemed so obsolete and small
I found God and all His devils inside her
In my bed she cast the blizzard out
A mock sun blazed upon her head
So completely filled with light she was
Her shadow fanged and hairy and mad
Our love-lines grew hopelessly tangled
And the bells from the chapel went jingle-jangle

Do you love me? Do you love me?
Do you love me? Do you love me?
Do you love me? Do you love me?
Do you love me? Like I love you?

She had a heartful of love and devotion
She had a mindful of tyranny and terror
Well, I try, I do, I really try
But I just err, baby, I do, I error
So come find me, my darling one
I’m down to the grounds, the very dregs
Ah, here she comes, blocking the sun
Blood running down the inside of her legs
The moon in the sky is battered and mangled
And the bells from the chapel go jingle-jangle

Do you love me? Do you love me?
Do you love me? Do you love me?
Do you love me? Do you love me?
Do you love me? Like I love you?

All things move toward their end
I knew before I met her that I would lose her
I swear I made every effort to be good to her
I made every effort not to abuse her
Crazy bracelets on her wrists and her ankles
And the bells from the chapel go jingle-jangle

Do you love me? Do you love me?
Do you love me? Do you love me?
Do you love me? Do you love me?
Do you love me? Like I love you?

 

Loverman

There’s a devil waiting outside your door (How much longer?)
There’s a devil waiting outside your door
It is bucking and braying and pawing at the floor
And he’s howling with pain and crawling up the walls
There’s a devil waiting outside your door
He’s weak with evil and broken by the world
He’s shouting your name and he’s asking for more
There’s a devil waiting outside your door

Loverman!
Since the world began
Forever, amen
Till end of time
Take off that dress
I’m coming down
I’m your loverman
Cause I am what I am what I am what I am

L is for LOVE, baby
O is for ONLY you that I do
V is for loving VIRTUALLY all that you are
E is for loving almost EVERYTHING that you do
R is for RAPE me
M is for MURDER me
A is for ANSWERING all of my prayers
N is for KNOWING your loverman’s going to
be the answer to all of yours

Loverman!
Till the bitter end
While empires burn down
Forever and ever and ever and ever amen
I’m your loverman
So help me, baby
So help me
Cause I am what I am what I am what I am
I’ll be your loverman!

There’s a devil crawling along your floor
There’s a devil crawling along your floor
With a trembling heart, he’s coming through your door
With his straining sex in his jumping paw
There’s a devil crawling along your floor
And he’s old and he’s stupid and
he’s hungry and he’s sore
And he’s lame and he’s blind
and he’s dirty and he’s poor
Give him more
There’s a devil crawling along your floor

Loverman!
Here I stand
Forever, amen
Cause I am what I am what I am what I am
Forgive me, baby
My hands are tied
And I got no choice
No, I got no choice at all

I’ll say it again
L is for LOVE, baby
O is for OH yes I do
V is for VIRTUE, so I ain’t gonna hurt you
E is for EVEN if you want me to
R is for RENDER unto me, baby
M is for that which is MINE
A is for ANY old how, darling
N is for ANY old time

I’ll be your loverman!
I got a masterplan
To take off your dress
And be your man
Seize the throne
Seize the mantle
Seize the crown
Cause I am what I am what I am what I am
I’m your loverman!

There’s a devil lying by your side
You might think he’s asleep
but look at his eyes
He wants you, baby, to be his bride
There’s a devil lying by your side

I Let Love In

Despair and Deception, Love’s ugly little twins
Came a-knocking on my door, I let them in
Darling, you’re the punishment for all of my former sins

I let love in
I let love in

The door it opened just a crack, but Love was shrewed and bold
My life flashed before my eyes, it was a horror to behold
A life-sentence sweeping confetti from the floor of a concrete hole

I let love in
I let love in
I let love in
I let love in

Well I’ve been bound and gagged and I’ve been terrorized
And I’ve been castrated and I’ve been lobotomized
But never has my tormenter come in such a cunning disguise

I let love in
I let love in
I let love in
I let love in

O Lord, tell me what I done
Please don’t leave me here alone
Where are my friends?
My friends are gone

O Lord, tell me what I done
Please don’t leave me here alone
Where are my friends?
My friends are gone

I let love in
I let love in

So if you’re sitting all alone and hear a-knocking at you door
and the air is full of promises, well buddy, you’ve been warned
Far worse to be Love’s lover than the lover that Love has scorned

I let love in
I let love in
I let love in
I let love in
I let love in
I let love in
I let love in
I let love in

From the other books, the  other songs of significance are Ellie’s tattoo: On Every Street by Dire Straits:

There’s gotta be a record of you someplace
You gotta be on somebody’s books
The lowdown – a picture of your face
Your injured looks
The sacred and profane
The pleasure and the pain
Somewhere your fingerprints remain concrete
And it’s your face I’m looking for on every street

A ladykiller – regulation tattoo
Silver spurs on his heels
Says – what can I tell you, as I’m standing next to you
She threw herself under my wheels
Oh it’s a dangerous road
And a hazardous load
And the fireworks over liberty explode in the heat
And it’s your face I’m looking for on every street

A three-chord symphony crashes into space
The moon is hanging upside down
I don’t know why it is I’m still on the case
It’s a ravenous town
And you still refuse to be traced
Seems to me such a waste
And every victory has a taste that’s bittersweet
And it’s your face I’m looking for on every street

 

And of course the Nine Inch Nails song “Wish,” the tattoo on Javier’s wrist.

This is the first day of my last days
I built it up now I take it apart
Climbed up real high
Now fall down real far

No need for me to stay
The last thing left I just threw it away
I put my faith in God and my trust in you
Now there’s nothing more fucked up I could do

Wish there was something real
Wish there was something true
Wish there was something real
In this world full of you

I’m the one without a soul
I’m the one with this big fucking hole
No new tale to tell
Twenty-six years on my way to hell
Gotta listen to your big time, hard line, bad luck fist fuck
Don’t think you’re having all the fun
You know me I hate everyone

Wish there was something real
Wish there was something true
Wish there was something real
In this world full of you

I want to but I can’t turn back
But I want to, but I can’t turn back

Wish there was something real
Wish there was something true
Wish there was something real
In this world full of you

 

Leave a Reply

